home subscriptions submissions ads patrons pacific REVIEW 2000 masthead &
contact info
2002 book release gala boutique ONE

boutique DOS

links pacific REVIEW 2002
pacific REVIEW 2001
pacific REVIEW
a west coast arts review annual
pac rev linker


Pacific Review accepts poems, fiction (short stories, flash fiction and excerpts that stand alone), memoir, creative non-fiction, essays, comics, visual art, photography, documented performance and hybrid.

We are currently considering work for our next theme issue: Errant Mythologies.

We hope you interpret Errant Mythologies in all the senses of each word, their combinations and beyond. We hope our theme provokes work you wish you could run into for the first time.

Offer us the tensions that bind your truths to what you deny, to the lies you love, to what you find undeniable: work that asks, in large or small ways, the big questions: work that is curious about the mystery itself: the errant mythologies that move you, trouble you, call you to experience and imagine them.

We are open to narrative, lyric, experimentation and combinations thereof, to traditional genres and emerging ones such as Afro futurism, Chicanismo, indigipunk, displaced romance, YA of all gender identifications and sexual orientations, as well as, of course, mythic / anti-mythic revolution and renaissance.

We love work that comments on the now and how we got here. We love work that imagines alternate pasts, presents and futures.

We want to experience the pleasure of being immersed in or awakened by precision, by languor, by challenge. And, we want the struggle of choosing between pieces that make us jealous of you for being their authors.

Offer us the pieces you loved making – because they brought you joy, because they brought you ache – the ones that surprised you in your shaping of them, the badass ones that don't give a fuck what you think you're supposed to think, the ones that demand you put your ethics and your favorite aesthetics on sleeve. Go on a journey to find your mythologies or send your mythologies on a wild goose chase. Then, please and thank you, send them to us!

Pacific Review considers previously unpublished work. If your work is simultaneously under consideration elsewhere, we ask that you notify us immediately upon selection. Please check the categories for specific guidelines. Click our Submittable portal here to share your work.

Tip Jar vs. Free Offerings: Submittable does charge and we would love support covering our printing costs, so we appreciate payment if you are able, however, we do not want you to be prevented from offering us your work because of cost: payment will not affect the consideration of your work.




pacificREVIEW 2016

LURKING ANONYMITY
now available at our Amazon.com online store
(ask for you local indy bookstores to carry it!)


On the surface, notoriety, visuality and celebrity culture oversaturate the information age. But what insidious formations lurk beneath the glossy surface? Faceless monsters dwell behind black screens—paradoxically both numbing factories of the masses and liberating tools of the dispossessed. Does this anonymity transform us into voiceless dolls that preserve the misogynistic power structures or grant us power through simulated online versions of ourselves. While menacing conglomerates practice institutionalized discrimination and witless pariahs face the backlash, moralized hackers expose hidden weaknesses that often bring those responsible to light. Does the rampant voyeurism of today signify a deep perversity or something more innocent and liberating that thrives in obscurity? What aspects of human nature are exposed with the burgeoning of artificial intelligence, online activism and twitter shaming? What masks do we wear and what secrets do they conceal?



IMAGE:

Roy Lichtenstein (1923-1997)
I Can See the Whole Room!...and There's Nobody in it!
signed 'rfl' (lower right)
oil and graphite on canvas
48 x 48 in. (121.9 x 121.9 cm.)
Painted in 1961.






Our new, 2015 edition of pacificREVIEW is now available via the San Diego State University Press/Amazon.com online store--click the cover of VIVARIUM: pacificREVIEW 2015, edited by Ryan Kelly, with Dakota Lenz, and Shannon Snyder, opposite, to order your issue now!











pacificREVIEW 2015: "Vivarium"


A vivarium (Latin for "place of life") is an area, usually enclosed, for keeping and raising animals or plants for observation or research. Often, a portion of the ecosystem for a particular species is simulated on a smaller scale, a microcosm with controls for environmental conditions.

We, as human beings, create vivariums for both ourselves and other species. In these environments of our own design (zoos, shopping malls, universities, cathedrals, etc.), we breathe simulation, observe phenomena both natural and unnatural, speak in symbols, and cypher our dreams. We are inhabitants of our creations, thriving in the flux between the abstract and the absolute.

The newest issue of the pacificREVIEW seeks dynamic pieces of fiction, nonfiction, poetry, graphic narratives, photography, and artwork that speak to this theme and interrogate the ever-blurring line between "real" and "unreal" settings.

Submission Period: October 1st, 2014 - February 28th, 2015. NOW CLOSED

How to submit:

https://sdsupacificreview.submittable.com/submit



pacificREVIEW 2014, Strangely Ever After, edited by Jacquelyn Phillips is now available for a special price at the San Diego State University Press amazon.com storefront--click the cover and experience the thrill of virtual teleportation!

Coming soon! CALL FOR PAPERS for pacificREVIEW 2015 edited by Ryan Kelly!  More to come! Watch this space or visit our facebook entities here: https://www.facebook.com/pacREV and our older site here: https://www.facebook.com/pages/PacificReview/172345312860673?ref=hl

pacificREVIEW: A West Coast Arts Review Annual
2014 Special Issue


"Strangely Ever After"

We are now accepting submissions all the way through February 1st 2013!  Don't be shy.  Embrace your quirkiness and send in your work - we want the strange and the unbelievable - the made-up and the fantastical.  Give us stories about traveling to France and only being able to speak one sentence in this unknown and foreign "new world" (at least it was new to you).  Or weave us a tale of rotten princesses, beautiful on the outside, but with the urge to kill on the inside.  Take pictures of the natural world in a naturally strange state.  Or create a sculpture that embodies the fairy tale in a grotesque fashion. 

-Fiction and Creative Nonfiction: Submit only one story.  No simultaneous submissions.  Maximum 4500 words.  We do accept (and encourage) flash fiction.

- Poetry: Submit 2 to 3 poems.  No simultaneous submissions.  Poems cannot exceed 2 typed pages.

- Photographs/drawings/artwork: Submit 1 to 4 works.  Must be in black and white.  Photographs of your work of art are perfectly acceptable.  Please adhere to the theme!

- Graphic Narrative: submit 2 to 3 pieces.  Must be in black and white.  Panels must fit on the length of two pages.  Please make legible.

Along with your submission, please include a cover letter with the following information (or as much information as you can):

1) The genre of your piece (fiction, flash fiction, creative nonfiction, etc. etc.)
2) First and last name
3) Degree and/or progress in school (if applicable)
4) What do you do for a living/dream of doing after you graduate?
5) Other publications (if applicable)

PLEASE SUBMIT YOUR WORK TO THE FOLLOWING:

pacrevjournal@gmail.com

OR VIA SNAIL MAIL AT:

Jacquelyn Phillips, Editor-in-Chief
pacific REVIEW
Dept. of English and Comparative Literature
San Diego State University
5500 Campanile Dr. | MC6020
San Diego, CA
92182-6020

If you have any further questions, need inspiration, or want to be updated frequently on the status of the journal, please follow pacificREVIEW on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pacREV

Last Year's Special Issue: URBAN MYTHOS 2013

Get it now at the pacREV superstore @ amazon.com!


We’re eagerly accepting submissions of short fiction/flash fiction, poetry, graphic narrative, photography, and creative nonfiction focusing on this theme. Written submissions must be 3,000 words or less and must be unpublished works. The submission deadline is 01.01.13.


Click here for more submission information!


Submit your minds and words to:


-|-Via Email -|-
kcullen07@gmail.com


-|-Via Snail Mail -|-
Editor-in-Chief,
pacific REVIEW
Dept. of English and Comparative Literature
San Diego State University
5500 Campanile Dr. | MC6020
San Diego, CA
92182-6020

 

REVOLT

pacificREVIEW, a West Coast Arts Review Literary Annual published by San Diego State University students in conjunction with San Diego State University Press, is currently accepting submissions for the 2010-2011 issue entitled “Revolt.”

In this turbulent time, one can’t help but hear those buzz words over and over again . . . “economic crisis,” “recession,” “Paris Hilton stock index” . . . At pacificREVIEW, we are well aware of the plight of the “little people,” those who just can’t seem to cut a break in this Comfortable-American-eats-the-economically-smaller-American world.  Low-wage makers are forced to suffer through-- and are expected to receive-- piteous means for laborious efforts.

But who says we have to put up with this?  pacificREVIEW says REVOLT.  We want to hear about your fight against it all, physically, spiritually, morally or any other______ly you can provide!

We’re eagerly accepting submissions of short fiction/flash fiction, poetry, graphic narrative, photography, and creative nonfiction focusing on this theme.

Written submissions must be 3,000 words or less.  The submission deadline is 01.01.11. 

Please direct any questions to pacificreview_sdsu [at] yahoo [dot] com

Submissions will be accepted in hard copy only. Send to:

Editor-in-Chief, pacific REVIEW
Dept. of English and Comparative Literature
San Diego State University
5500 Campanile Dr., MC6020
San Diego, CA 92182-6020

Simultaneous submissions will not be accepted.


bankRUPTURE

CALL FOR SUBMISSIONS!

CALL FOR SUBMISSIONS!

POETS, WRITERS, PHOTOGRAPHERS, ILLUSTRATORS!!!!!  
SEND US YOUR BEST STUFF!!!!!

pacific REVIEW, a West Coast Arts Review literary Annual, published by San Diego State University undergrads in conjunction with San Diego State University Press, is currently accepting submissions for the 2009-2010 issue entitled “BANKRUPTURE”.  Short stories, flash fiction, creative non-fiction pieces, poetry, graphic narrative, illustrations, and photography touching on the theme of “cashing out and starting over” are encouraged. How does the individual or social body construct identity and meaning out of personal or collective financial, moral, and/or spiritual ruin? How does one re-invest in the re-creation and/or reconstruction of political, social, and religious institutions in times of bankruptcy? 

pacific REVIEW editors are excited to receive submissions in the interest of creating a textual and visual artifact out of the ruins of rupture.

UPDATED Submission deadline is March 1, 2010. Word count is 3,000 words.

Please also enclose a self-addressed envelope. All submissions must be sent to:

Joseph Robinson Borland
josephborland AT ymail DOT com
Editor-in-Chief, pacific REVIEW
Dept. of English and Comparative Literature
San Diego State University
5500 Campanile Dr., MC6020
San Diego, CA 92182-6020

now available!
Our 2008-09 issue!
order direct via LULU.COM--note, this link takes you OUTSIDE the hermetically-sealed, safe domain of sdsu.edu! hit the cover and teleport away.....





OLD call for submissions!
now over! don't submit till our new call appears, fall 2009!


2008-2009 Call for Submissions
 
pacificREVIEW is now accepting submissions in all genres for its 2008-2009 issue.  Send us your best work: fiction, poetry, non-fiction (essays, reviews), photography and art.
We look forward to reading your work.

Address it to:
 
pacifcREVIEW (genre, i.e. fiction, poetry)
San Diego State University
Dept. of English & Comp Lit
Arts & Letters 226
San Diego, CA  92182-6020
 
The deadline for submissions is May 1st, 2008.
 
All the best, and happy writing,
 
Lester O’Connor, fiction editor
Chrissy Rikkers, poetry editor


SUBMISSIONS:

pacificREVIEW welcomes submissions of previously unpublished poems, short stories, translations, and creative non-fiction, including essays and reviews.  We also accept submissions for art and cover art.
 
Submissions should be directed to the appropriate editor (Fiction, Poetry, Nonfiction, or Art) at:
 
pacificREVIEW (indicate genre)
San Diego State University
Dept. of English & Comp Lit
Arts & Letters 226
San Diego, CA  92182-6020
 
GUIDELINES FOR SUBMISSION:
 
Fiction & other prose:  Mail submissions to the address above, Attention: Lester O’Connor, Fiction Editor.  Submissions should be typed on white, 8 1/2” x 11” paper. The title page should include the word count (no more 20 pages), as well as the author’s name and contact information.
 
Poetry:  Mail 3-5 poems to the address above, Attention: Chrissy Rikkers, Poetry Editor.  Submissions should be typed on white, 8 1/2” x 11” paper, and include the author’s name and contact information.
 
Translations: If submitting a translation, please include the original poems in the original language you are translating from, and be sure that you have acquired the rights from that author.
 
Art:  Mail up to 5 works of photography/art – any style – attention: Art Editor. Image files should be sent to us via email as attachments: 300dpi jpgs or tiff files.
 
PLEASE NOTE:
 
Enclose a self-addressed, stamped envelope (SASE) for notification.  Manuscripts will not be returned. If you would like to be notified by email instead, please indicate clearly an email address where we can contact you (and skip the SASE).
 
Simultaneous submissions are acceptable, but please notify us immediately if the work you’ve sent us has been accepted elsewhere.
 
We do NOT accept electronic submissions.
 
** Deadline for all submissions is May 1st, 2008 **

breaking news about a talented pacREV Author!!!

> Date: Sat, 2 Feb 2008 14:57:44 -0600
> From: "Erin Pringle"
> To: pacificreview_sdsu@yahoo.com
> Subject: Good News--The Floating Order
>
> Dear Jenny and pacificReview:
>
> I'm writing to share the good news that my book _The Floating Order_
> has been accepted for publication by a small, new
> press called Interbirth Books At the latest, the book
> will be released (at the latest) May '09 at first as
> a short run of hand-bound, hardback books and then into softcover.
>
> "Drift" is one of the stories in the book, and of
> course, I'll list pacificREVIEW in the
> acknowledgments page.  Again, thank you for enjoying
> my story and the encouragement created by liking my work.
>
> Cheers, Erin Pringle  www.myspace.com/erinpringle
  

 



now available!!!!
...the 2007-2008 "polaroid" issue of pacific REVIEW!!! Edited by Jenny Minniti-Shippey, Joe Kane, and Reggie Hui!!!!

Featuring the following works and artists!


Editor’s Note                Jenny Minniti- Shippey    7

Traduttore, Traditore            Peter Moore        8

Transubstatiation                Roy Seeger          9

Little Red Riding Hood through the eye        Kristin Abraham        11

SomePlace Like This
Gunshot Wedding                Lorene Delaney- Ullman    12

Decision   
When Mary Gets Shot in the Head        Francine Witte        13

Marinara                    Scott Wiggerman        14

Etymology                Carrie J. Boden        15

Untitled                    Jackie Young        17

Drift                    Erin Pringle        18

Aromatics

How to Fall in Love                Erin Elizabeth Smith        24

2007 Brushfire Award                        26

Dar a Luz                    Paula Brancato        27

2007 Brushfire Award Honorable Mention                    43

Three Poems                John Estes        44

Three Poems                Christopher Kennedy    51

The Bull                    Bill Teitelbaum        55

Look                    Toni and Zoe        57

Oakland Hills, 1991
The Wheel                Roy Kesey            58

After Reading Fennelly’s Open House   
Maryland                    Brandi Homan        59

Homes                    Tracy Burkholder        61

October
Home                    Louis E. Bourgeois        67

after                    Andrena Zawinski        68

In the Altogether                William Bert            69
Anonymous                Jim Lucio                77

Medusa                    Emily Tallman        78

Durio Zibethinus                Julie R. Enzer        79

After “The Death of Chatterton”        Karen Schubert        80
Warhol’s Shoes                Courtney Yip        81

eleven o’clock a.m., two years later
Like Trees Are Supposed To            Lindsay D’Andrea        82

Autobiography
Metaphoric                Jay Rubin            88

Magnolia                    Carine Topal        89
Closed                    Courtney Yip        90

San Francisco Poems            Thomas D. Drescher        91

Offloading the Wounded            Jeffrey Alfier        92

Frankie                    William Knorr        93
Skylight                    Carol Carpenter        97

Murmuration
The Hope to Forget                Amanda Rachel Warren    98

Review: Shake by Joshua Beckman        Brian Morrison        100

20 Questions with Allan Gurganus                    102








!!2007 Brushfire award winner announced!!

new call for submissions!

pacificREVIEW 2008-2009
…a literary journal featuring original poetry, fiction, photography, art, translations, essays, non-fiction, and other provocative treats.

…new, famous, and infamous writers welcome.

Guidelines for submission before the April 1, 2008 deadline:
-No previously published works.
-Fiction/Essays/Non-Fiction, etc.: 20 pages or fewer.  
-Poetry: 5 poems max—any style, any length
-Photography/Art: 5 works, any style
-Translations: Include the original work in its original language. Be sure you have the rights from the author/publisher before you submit your translation(s). We prefer if said original work is in the public domain.

What to include:
-a self-addressed stamped envelope
-a cover page with name, contact info, and titles of work
-NO NAMES ON SUBMISSIONS
-enclose a paragraph-length bio with your work as SEPARATE DOCUMENT from your submissions.
-image files should be sent to us as 300dpi jpgs or tiff files attached to an email.

Send us your best, and we’ll give it our undivided attention.

Address it like this:

Chrissy Rikkers and Lester O'Connor
pacificREVIEW 2008-2009

Department of English & Comparative Literature 
San Diego State University 
5500 Campanile Dr. 
San Diego, CA 92182-6020

JUST OUT!!!
Now available!!!!! The brand new 2006-2007 NOSTALGIA: VERBAL AND VISUAL relic issue of pacific REVIEW: A West Coast Arts Review Annual, edited by Kristin Clough is now published and available for use in undergraduate courses, writing workshop seminars, and to the general public.  It's the largest issue of pacific REVIEW ever published with over 225 pages of poetry, stories, art, photography, and more.  Order it now from our secure servers at 
lulu.com. You can sneak a peek at our contributors and the first few pages of the issue here.  You can see a view of the wraparound cover spread here.

Rebecca
                            Tillett, model and photographer for this
                            nifty pacific review cover!

pacific REVIEW 2005-2006, the OMNIVORE special issue edited by Leon Lanzbom and only a tad late is NOW available by following this link--do note that this link takes you outside the sdsu.edu domain, but know as well that your trip will be secure, safe, and without a hint of trouble!

The cover features the work of Rebecca Tillett, a rising star in the world of indy photography!  More on Tillett's work is available by taking that mouse of yours and clicking here!

Click here for the issue's table of contents! Click here for some notes on our local and international contributors.
linkpacific REVIEW
A West Coast Arts Review Annual 
Four Decades of Literary Experimentation at SDSU

pacific REVIEW has published high-quality fiction, poetry, essays, and artwork since 1972. Past issues boast the literary talent of Carolyn Forché, Claribel Alegria, Raymond Federman, Ernesto Cardenal, Robert Coover, Susan Daitch, Steve Kowit, Daniel Halpern, and Jorge Luis Borges, to name a few.Akin to other university-based, literary initiatives (Long River Review, at the University of Connecticut, Storrs; Ploughshares, at Emerson College; and The Sycamore Review, at Purdue University), pacific REVIEW showcases the work of emergent literati, pairing their efforts with the work of established artists. A back issue, pacific REVIEW 2003, will soon be back in print. It features works that explore identity in the context of West Coast/California culture. Guest contributors include Ai, Alurista, , Lawrence Ferlinghetti, Oliver Mayer,  and William T. Vollmann. 


pacific REVIEW books and sundries

pacific REVIEW novelty items
2004-2005 issue available ONLINE though our secure CAFEPRESS servers!
link


Click the cover above to be instantly transported to our CAFEpress outlet with secure, state of the art transaction protocols.

2007 Events Archive


expired:
2007 Brushfire Award
a chapbook competition

$1000 prize & publication of the winning chapbook in pacific REVIEW's  Spring 2007 issue

Judged by
Ilya Kaminsky

$15 reading fee SASE; cover page with name, contact information and title of chapbook; up to 15 pages; previously published poems within the chapbook are acceptable as long as the author has retained her or his publication rights!

DEADLINE: FEBRUARY 15, 2007

c/o Dept. English & Comparative Literature
San Diego State University
5500 Campanile Dr.  San Diego, CA 92182-6020 
pacificREVIEW_sdsu@yahoo.com


2005 Events Archive

Reading at D.G. Wills!

Collette LaBouf Atkinson, Brandi Bell, Estela Eaton, Guillermo Nericcio Garcia, Cassandra Gonzalez, Sandra Hunter, Maggie Jaffe and Leon Lanzbom will be performing at D.G. Wills Books on December 10th, 7pm, to commemorate the Decay and Decadence issue of pacificREVIEW.

pacificREVIEW has published high-quality fiction, poetry, essays, and artwork since 1972. The journal showcases the work of emergent literati, pairing their efforts with the work of established artists. After the nineteenth century Decay and Decadence movement, this issue further explores the role of decadence in art as a progressive reflection of decay in society. Like funhouse mirrors inverting the relationship between inflator and inflated, the works presented in this issue foreground the cataclysmic and much anticipated demise of the artist against the summits of aestheticism, hence fashioning her after the herculean strength and vulnerability of her subject.

D.G. Wills Books, La Jolla's most decadent collection of new and scholarly books and home of the La Jolla Cultural Society, is located at 7461 Girard Avenue, La Jolla Ca. 92037 (858) 456-1800.

More information is available on their website: www.dgwillsbooks.com This event is free and open to the public. 


Congratulations to a cool, new vibrant literary journal edited by our superstud former editor, Jonathan Speight!  CRATE!  Click here, or the cover opposite, for more info.
ilk

Alaska Quarterly Review

American Literary Review
American Poetry Review
Antigonish Review
Antioch Review
Beloit Poetry Journal
Black Warrior Review
CallalooCarolina Quarterly
ConjunctionsCrazyhorse
Cream City Review
Creative Nonfiction
Fence
Field
Five Points
Georgia Review
Gettysburg Review
Grand Street
Granta
Greensboro Review
Gulf Coast
Harvard Review
Hayden's Ferry Review
Iowa Review
The Journal
Kenyon Review
Literary Review
Manoa
Massachusetts Review
McSweeneys
Meridian
Michigan Quarterly Review
Mid-American Review
Mississippi Review
Missouri Review
Nebraska Review
New England Review
New Criterion
New England Review
North American Review
North Dakota Quarterly
Notre Dame Review
Ontario Review
Open City
Paris Review
Pequod
Ploughshares
Poetry
Poetry International
Prairie Schooner
Quarterly West
Rattapallax
Seattle Review
Seneca Review
Sewanee Review
Shenandoah
South Dakota Review
Southern Review
Spoon River Poetry Review
Sycamore Review
Tampa Review
Tar River Poetry
Tin House
Threepenny Review
Vestal Review
Western Humanities Review
Witness
Yale Review
Zoetrope: All-Story
Zyzzyva

memogr@phics design

wallpaper